What are the different types of ISO Standard | Unilex

ISO stands for international organization of standardization. It’s an international standard body dedicating to creating, setting and promoting standard. There are many different types of ISO standards out there, sometimes it is hard to understand which is suitable for the business. While some standards are beneficial for risk management, quality standard, food and safety management and so on. If your business is not certified with ISO standards and are interested in implementing standard in your organization and want to learn more aboot it. You have come to the right place. Below we have mentioned top 10 ISO standards history, whey they entail and their impact on the business.

ISO 9001:

By far  the most well known family is that of ISO 9000. A group of quality management standard, there are fourteen altogether. Of these, ISO 9001:2015 is the one in particular that can be certified to. It was first released in 1987, and has since been updated about at regular intervals. The standard details how to put a Quality Management System (QMS) set up to more readily set up your association to deliver quality items and services. It is client focused, and puts  a constant improvement and top administration forms that reached out all through the association.

The standard was updated in 2015, and now puts a greater emphasis on risk management. The standard is nonexclusive, and can be utilized in any association in any segment. More than 1,000,000 ISO certifications have been given out in more than 170 nations as per the ISO Survey of Management System Standard Certifications.

ISO 14001: ISO 14000 is a group of standards relating to the environment. It incorporates various standards, like ISO 9000. ISO 14001:2015 is the most well known in the family, and is the just one where an association can be ensured.

It sets up prerequisites for an Environmental Management System (EMS) and depends on the continuous improvement model PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act). It is a willful standard, set up by organizations who need to improve their procedures, and is extremely prominent, with more than 300,000 accreditations in 171 nations around the world.

ISO 27000

This family of standard concerns information technology, with the objective of improving security and ensuring organization resources. Begun in 2005, the two most mainstream principles are ISO 27001:2013 and 27002:2013. 27001 is the executives based framework, while 27002 is a specialized report, concentrated on the individual and setting up a set of principles.

Associations can pick either standard; ISO 27001 has more than 22,000 certifications around the world. It is a wide standard, and therefore the certification can be customize to fit the necessities of the association, and isn't compulsory.

ISO 22000

This standard is centered around the improvement and usage of a food safety management system, and can help any association that works in the food chain. With numerous standards including 22001 for nourishment and drink, 22002 for food manufacturing, and more, this family is utilized in an assortment of associations directly or  indirectly in a way engaged with food . These incorporate obvious  decisions, for example, cafés of any kind, and furthermore organizations, for example, food manufacturing or even food transportation administrations, for example, food providers.

ISO 50001

One of the newest standard the vitality standard ISO 50001:2011 is nevertheless becoming progressively significant. Released in 2011, the standard is meant for organizations to set up an Energy Management System (EMS) devoted to improving vitality use and effectiveness. This incorporates decreasing an association's vitality impression by lessening ozone harming substance outflows just as energy cost.

ISO/TS 16949

One of the more established standards, ISO/TS 16949 refers to the car business. TS represents Technical Specification. Before the standard, providers were asked via vehicle manufactures to standardize to the guidelines of every individual nation, which regularly prompted providers requiring different certifications for a similar vehicle.

As indicated by the British Standards Institution (BSI), in 1999 the ISO/TS 16949 standard was made by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) to help streamline this procedure. It centers around avoidance of mistakes, and defines the prerequisites for the development, generation, and establishment of car related items.

ISO 31000

It is important for an association in any field to have the option to risk management system. ISO 31000:2009 sets up a risk managment system to do just that. It was made in 2009 as an endeavor to reduce the chances of risk and  taking out the requirement for the numerous norms in different enterprises that incorporate risk. The standard enables an organization to better identify threat before they happen, and adequately allocate  and use assets for risk treatment.

ISO 26000

A generally new standard, ISO 26000 focuses on social obligation and was released in 2010. It can't be ensured to, yet rather gives direction on how organizations can work in a socially capable manner. It explains what social duty is, and enables associations to set up the system to take successful activities identifying with worldwide social obligation. The certification  is utilized in more than 60 nations.

ISO 20121

The newest standard on this rundown, ISO 20121 was begun in 2012. It came about due to overpowering help of BS 8901, an occasion supportability standard set up with help from the Head of Sustainability at the London 2012 Olympics. It is an intentional occasion supportability the board system.

To Conclude:

We hope now you understand all top ISO standards. If you want to implement any one of them in your business and looking for the consultant. You have come to the right place. At, Unilex Business Consultant, you will meet with the professionals, who can help you in regarding ISO standards and their related issues. To get in touch with us, all you need to dial our phone number or you can share your queries through email. Once we receive your inquiry, we will get back to you in no less time. Keep in mind, you can increase the authenticity of your company, by implementing ISO standards.

Recent posts

Why choose Unilex?

Well with highly qualified professionals in our team along with the technology gives edge over others, as a result highly rated professional services with full customer satisfaction is assured. We help to grow and manage your business letting you to concentrate on your business.


MSME Registered

Unilex is registered with the Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME), a part of Government of India.


ISO 9001:2015 Certified

Unilex is a ISO certified body, assuring the quality professional services to aspiring startups


Money Back Guarantee

Subject to our terms and conditions, money back is guaranteed if we failed to give 100% customer satisfaction


Google Partner

Unilex is a Google Partner. Google Partners are tasked with helping businesses market their service or products online.



Satisfied Enterprenuers



Team Strength


10 years+

Professional experience



Services delivered


Learning center

Learning never stops

Get yourself updated with various start-up/Entrepreneurship laws applicable in India. Dive into our well written articles/blogs by our experts and get more information on government regulations and company rules and regulations.

Start Learning